Select Page

National Fleet Safety Award Winners Announced

National Fleet Safety Award Winners Announced

Last week in Las Vegas at the TCA Annual Awards Banquet, the grand prize winners of the National Fleet Safety for the year 2015 were revealed.

The awards were an initiative taken by the TCA a few years back to honor the trucking companies who showed their unparalleled dedication towards fleet safety.

Winners for the divisional awards were selected earlier in 2015 after being divided into 6 categories based on the number of miles each fleet drove. The companies that passed the first round were then evaluated based on their accident frequency which was measured per million miles driven. All the companies that made it through the evaluation round were then called upon to compete against each other for one of more grand prizes.

The grand prize for large carriers was awarded to Bison. Not to forget, Bison has won this award for the sixth consecutive time.

To present the award, Patrick Kuehl of the Great West Casualty Company, demonstrating his appreciation for such an initiative remarked, “Our larger carrier winner is an amazing blend of safety initiatives. Much like any carrier, (Bison) strives to be profitable but also puts safety at the forefront of everything that they do…(Bison) operates under the premise that if they can’t operate safely, then that service we will not do.”

The name Bison seems to be intact with the National Fleet Safety Award as it was the ninth time the trucking company bagged the award. Rob Penner, who accepted the award on behalf of his company, seemed more than just enthusiastic when talking about the company’s goals and objectives for the upcoming years. Appreciating the effort of all its fleet drivers, Rob made the company’s priorities very clear –their workforce.

“Our mission is to make sure that every one of our drivers makes it home safely each and every time,” he said.

Second year in the row and still going strong, FTC Transportation also got their hands on the grade prize for being the best small carrier division.

An overly happy Travis Arnold, FTC’s president while accepting the award for his company remarked, “The group that I have in Oklahoma City believes in safety of course…they believe in our mission, they believe in our vision, they believe in each other, they believe in team work, they trust each other and really I think that’s why we’re here tonight.”

The TCA’s convention concluded with one last award for the “Best Fleets To Drive For” which was awarded to both FTC and Bison for their exceptional services and quality of deliverance as of in 2014. – See more at:

Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Need a Laugh?