Select Page

DOT Names Members of New Autonomous-Based Committee

DOT Names Members of New Autonomous-Based Committee

American Trucking Associations President and CEO Chris Spear has been named as a member of the Department of Transportation’s new advisory committee. The committee will be focused on automation in the trucking industry and the steps needed to administer these changes safely. Gloria Boyland, FedEx Corporate Vice President, Operations and Support Services, has also been added to the committee.

A total of 25 people were named to the committee, all of which are knowledgeable and experienced in the field of transportation. With a goal of determining what rules and regulations should be put in place as autonomous vehicles begin appearing on roadways more often, the insight this committee provides will be very important for the future of truck driving.

Transportation Secretary Anthony Foxx said: “During my time at the department, we have fostered some of the most significant technological changes to ever take place in transportation, and we did so while keeping our focus on the safety of the American people. This new automation committee will work to advance life-saving innovations while boosting our economy and making our transportation network more fair, reliable, and efficient.”

Staffing aimed to include a mix of political officials, business experts, and field specialists. The committee chair will be Mary Barra, chairman and CEO of General Motors with the co-chair being held by Los Angeles mayor Eric Garcetti. Vice chair will be held by Dr. J. Chris Gerdes, Professor of Engineering at Stanford University.

Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Need a Laugh?